Celebrating Me

YMCA Open Tournament 2009

Posted on: March 16, 2009

Yesterday, PICA held the YMCA Tournament at YMCA (duh!) and also their Annual General Meeting (AGM). And yesterday was the third day in a row I went to Ipoh.

The AGM was scheduled to start at 9 a.m. and end an hour later, and the first round was predicted to start at 10.10 a.m., 10 minutes after the meeting.

So after dropping off my brothers at Unit Sukan (they were headed for MSSM in Klang), my dad and I arrived at YMCA. The Ee twins, Shu Jing and Kong Liang, were there and so was Kay Lynn in her blazing white outfit and Firdaus, now taller than ever and also Lawrence the Great.

Oi, siapa kata Yusri akan datang huh?

Anyway, the AGM began (my first ever experience on how adult AGMs are conducted) and the chairperson, Dr Yee, (ex-president of PICA) started his talk on I don’t know what. For your information, I’m going to be relating my experience to this AGM in a debate format which explains the term chairperson (if you know what I mean).

My dad predicted that there would be drama and he was right. After like about 15 minutes, emotions ran high and a fight of words ensued between members of the committee. It wasn’t so much of a meeting anymore, but more like a hot debate. Politics always have drama, whether it’s chess politics or whatever politics la. Cut the long story short, the AGM which was supposed to last only for an hour dragged on for 2 long hours.

Too bad I couldn’t hear what they were saying. It was all in a blur but my dad told me what happened later on.

So anyway, the first round finally started at about 11 a.m. By now, after the numerous local rapid tournaments I’ve participated, I’ve grown quite used to these tournaments not starting on time.

But the time control was heartlessly cut down to 10 minutes from the original 20 minutes per person! But after round 4, the time control was back to 20 minutes. Oh and thanks to the AGM I lost to an 11 year old boy.

Anyway, here are my rounds. Not many strong players participated though. Most were at Klang to play in the MSSM. I’m an olg hag so I couldn’t play, I know.

Round 1 – I was up agaisnt a small Malay boy of 11 years. I beat him la.

Round 2 – I played with a slightly older Malay boy. I won my game pretty easily too.

Round 3 – Oh gosh. I so hate this round. I lost to an 11 year old Indian boy! I was attacking him like crazy when I freaking blundered my Queen! Sigh…

Round 4 – I played with a Malay teenager and beat him.

Round 5 – I was up against Lawrence. I lost la, aiyo. He sacrificed a piece for an attack and I just sucked at defending my position. I think I messed up my opening anyway.

Round 6 – I played with Sharon Yee, daughter of Dr Yee. I won the game.

Round 7 – I played my dad and I won! I attacked his king and my attack broke through! Yeah!

Conclusion: The tournament was pretty easy I guess. I collected 5 out of 7 points. And that’s nothing special at all. I think about 8 people got 5 points. Anyway, I still clinched the Best Girl under-18 title. Too bad it was only a trophy. I’d prefer money =)

Anyway, Shu Jing and Kong Liang got the 7th and 8th place respectively. Lawrence got the 9th place. Firdaus got 2 placings lower than me although he played agaisnt much stronger players. LOL. I pity him in a way. Actually, Firdaus is quite strong too. Kay Lynn leh…hahaha. Okay la, i won’t give out ur position la. lol…

But still the day was really, really good. I had a great time with my friends. We gossiped and teased and just had lots fun with one another. And I know somebody had a real great time with somebody else! 😉

Oh and Firdaus couldn’t stop teasing me about my weight! Oi, I’ll take that as a challenge alright! You’ll see once I return from NS I’ll be so stick thin you won’t even be able to see me. RAWR!

p.s.: I won’t be stick thin la.

5 Responses to "YMCA Open Tournament 2009"

Thank goodness u didn’t give out my position. I sucked like hell there la.. haha..

Eh, who is that sumbody having a real great time with sumbody else ha??? 🙂

BTW, read my blog la.. Got your BEAUTIFUUUUUUUULLLL picture there le.. haha…

who is that sumbody having a real great time with sumbody else ha?lol….mi yen n k liang??mi yen n lawrence?? =P…….hahahha…..jz joking…mi yen..cepat kurangkan ur BERAT badan la!!!ngeeehehhehe….

btw..kaylynnn tak nak tunjuk her skills..or she cant concentrate because of sumwan?? =P

I forgot who I play ady.. except the round after break and firdaus!! Actually was just taking risk that time, cause lazy to put back my knight.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

